MyPage is a personalized page based on your interests.The page is customized to help you to find content that matters you the most.

I'm not curious

Four Essential Web Hosting Types

Published on 03 January 18

Four Essential Web Hosting Types

There are generally four different types of web hosting servers: Shared, Dedicated, Virtual Private Server (VPS), and Cloud Hosting. While all types of servers will function as a storage centre for your site, they vary in the volume of storage capacity, in terms of technical, server speed, knowledge requirement, control, and reliability. Let’s look at the main differences between a shared, dedicated, VPS, and cloud hosting.

Shared Hosting:

Four Essential Web Hosting Types - Image 1
In the shared hosting, a website is placed on a same server as other websites, starting from few to hundreds or to thousands. Typically, all the domains may share those common pools of the server resources, such as CPU and the RAM. As the cost is very low, most of the websites with average traffic levels running a standard software are mostly hosted on this type of a server. As a shared hosting is accepted broadly as an entry-level option of hosting as it needs least technical knowledge.

Dedicated Hosting:

Four Essential Web Hosting Types - Image 2

This type of hosting gives more elasticity to customers as compared to shared hosting. Customers have control over hosting environment and have the choice of operating system. A dedicated server allows installing and running any programs. A web host provider is responsible for network and hardware administration. However, this option is the best option for several companies and gives huge traffic to a website. The customer manages multiple domains and hosts an additional website on a single server. Software installation is unlimited.

Virtual Private Server:

Four Essential Web Hosting Types - Image 3

A virtual private server [VPS] hosting divides the server into the virtual servers, where each website is hosted on its own dedicated server, but actually, they are sharing the server with some different other users. The users may own root access to their individual virtual space and secured hosting environment with these type of hosting. Websites that require higher control at a server level, but don't invest in the dedicated server.

Cloud Hosting:

Four Essential Web Hosting Types - Image 4

Cloud hosting offers an unlimited capacity to manage high traffic or spikes. A unit of servers (called as a cloud) works together for hosting group of websites. This enables many computers working together to control high traffic levels or traffic spikes for any particular site.

This blog is listed under Data Centre Management and Server & Storage Management Community

Post a Comment

Please notify me the replies via email.

  • We hope the conversations that take place on will be constructive and thought-provoking.
  • To ensure the quality of the discussion, our moderators may review/edit the comments for clarity and relevance.
  • Comments that are promotional, mean-spirited, or off-topic may be deleted per the moderators' judgment.
You may also be interested in
Awards & Accolades for MyTechLogy
Winner of
Top 100 Asia
Finalist at SiTF Awards 2014 under the category Best Social & Community Product
Finalist at HR Vendor of the Year 2015 Awards under the category Best Learning Management System
Finalist at HR Vendor of the Year 2015 Awards under the category Best Talent Management Software
Hidden Image Url